Linux Takes Over International Space Station


The United Space Alliance, which manages the computers aboard the International Space Station in association with NASA, has announced that the Windows XP computers aboard the ISS have been switched to Linux. “We migrated key functions from Windows to Linux because we needed an operating system that was stable and reliable.”

In specific, the “dozens of laptops” will make the change to Debian 6. These laptops will join many other systems aboard the ISS that already run various flavors of Linux, such as RedHat and Scientific Linux.

Given that most scientific research is being done on Linux, the switch away from Microsoft products was the right choice for NASA and the United Space Alliance. Scientific applications, which can be decades old in some instances and include embeded systems running instrumentation, need stability and long-term consistency to function properly. Engineers and developers can’t be limited to waiting on big software vendors for needed changes and security patches.

With the switch to Linux NASA and the United Space Alliance will be able to take over the modification and customization of the ISS software and move away from dependence on outside vendors.

8 thoughts on “Linux Takes Over International Space Station

  1. I must express appreciation to you just for rescuing me from this kind of a situation. As a result of searching throughout the the web and seeing recommendations which aren’t pleasant, I figured my life was done. Living minus the solutions towards the difficulties you’ve solved through this website is a critical case, also as the ones that could have inside a wrong way affected my entire career if I hadn’t noticed your web weblog. Your knowledge and kindness in maneuvering all of the particulars was valuable. I’m not certain what I would have carried out if I had not come across such a solution like this. I can also now relish my long term. Thank you extremely much for the professional and effective guide. I will not be reluctant to propose your internet websites to anyone who needs to have care on this subject.

  2. Just wish to say your article is as astounding. The clarity to your post is just excellent and i could think you’re an expert in this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with drawing close post. Thanks one million and please keep up the rewarding work.

Leave a comment